The Only Gifts That Last Are Memories

I’ve heard the only gifts that last are memories,
So here I am swimming in all of ours.
Into your wonder,
Out of myself.
From bare feet to ketchup stains,
Twirling orange leaves to theater projections,
Professor instructions to unexplained emotions.
Into your wonder,
Out of myself.
You leave me questioning myself,
Like song lyrics left without a melody.
And all of these thoughts of life,
All of the mysteries and pains,
Seasons and dimples,
Wrinkles and laughs,
All sum up to one true statement for those still left in this place:
The only gifts that last are memories.

Leave a Reply

