Rescue Me

Find me here,Between the lacings of what I will and won’t forget,

And beg again if I’m ok.

You’ll rescue me from this,

But not without having to find me first.

You’ll approach broken until I let go,

You’ll ask what more can you do.

Rescue my ears from the lies that mildew them,

Rescue my skin from the sin traced along its imperfections,

Rescue my eyes from what my mother never warned me of.

Trace with your love

The horizon of flying clouds hugging mountains,

And the sunrise kissing treetops.

I thought rescue would be an escape,

But your arms told me it was acceptance.

I ask again why you try so hard to mend me,

I ask again why you try so hard to help me,

Yet the answer is always the same;

I rescued you first.

Leave a Reply

